Late model pork chop to engine brace

FuelCooler

This will be part of my winter fun, so I will start the questioning early!

I plan on adding the extra late model (2003 long frame) bracing to my 2000 short frame (the tubes that run from the lower pork chop, under the sides of the trans, to the engine). I have the late model parts in hand but I need to know 2 or 3 things.

1. Does anyone have late model cases to measure (+/- 0.015) the location for the necessary holes?

2. Are the early case castings different internally in a way (I would doubt) that would prevent this.

3. Anyone done this?

Actually it might help if someone has a broken set of cases (Scura?) I could buy/borrow to measure and compare.

FWIW-I was a machinist for 15 years, so be as technical as you like.

Thanks in advance,

Steve

• Replies 102
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest ratchethack

Steve, I've gotta admire your ambition in tackling the task. It's been the topic o' many a fireside chat at the Guzzi rallies I've attended -- among the company of those longtime Guzzi Pro's with well established qualifications for comment! :mg:

By your signature I can see that you have a sense of humor, so I rest assured that you won't be taking too much offense at a campfire-grade comment or 2 from Y'ers Truly? . . . :lol:

By my reckoning and that of a few Pro's, adding the late model bracing could be done with the engine in the frame -- by a very skilled craftsman. To my knowledge, you'd be the first. Otherwise, the motor would have to come out for milling on the ol' Bridgeport, among other operations best suited for a variety of other great big walloping machine shop tools. -_-

But the obvious fly in the ointment here would seem to be the fact that you've ALREADY compromised the handling of this, the (IMHO) best handling of all V-11's, :wub: by crippling it with a mismatched sea-anchor wide-butt rear wheel and tire! :(