Relay Failures

dlaing

Eureka!

I think I discovered a major cause of the relay failures on our bikes.

About two years ago I replaced the relays on my bike with the grey Bosch units.

Over the past month or two they started to fail.

I ordered a new set from Dan Prunuske, and he took interest as to why the relay failed

so I decided to investigate the cause.

Looking at the wiring diagram on Carl Allison's site and looking at the specs on the relays, I realized that the current of the headlight and a few other current using devices passed through a 10 Amp rated section of the relay!!!! Drat! The Guzzi Engineers made a mistake!!!!

But being an electrical layman, I was not completely sure, so I emailed a reply to Dan, and he agrees that there is a problem.

He posted the following on the MGCL:

Date: Thu Oct 9, 2003 8:58:48 PM US/Pacific

To: MGCL@topica.com

Subject: V11 Sport Wiring vs Relays

Dave Laing recently contacted me regarding a failed Bosch starter relay on his V11 Sport. He thought the problem was that the Normally Closed terminal of the starter relay powered the headlights, not merely the coil of the headlight relay. I was skeptical (who would be so stupid?), but after checking the wiring diagram, he is correct. Worse, that terminal (rated at 10 amps) also powers the brake lights, the tach, the horn, some of the instrument lights, and is the reference voltage for the GEN lite! Arrrrgh. The high beam and the brake lights alone are about 9 amps, and imho, too much load on a 10 amp contact. (My normal rule of thumb is to use a relay capable of twice the anticipated load).

So you ask, what controls the headlight relay? The stupid sidestand safety switch! Arrrgh. Nice going Guzzi. There is no horn relay - full current goes thru the switch. Loverly. Another buck saved.

What to do? I'd suggest: