2001 v11 sport won't start

handtius

hi all. I'm new here. Just purchased a 2001 v11 sport and I'm having an issue with her. The first few days it was riding fine, but would cut out mid-ride every once in a while, until it cut out and wouldn't start. had to push it almost 2 miles home. When I put the key in the start position, the lights all turn on, but when i push the starter it makes a rapid clicking sound when I try to start it. The guy I bought it from has been very helpful. He says it could be the battery, the relays or possibly the generator fuse. How do I check if any of these guesses are correct? Where do I look for the generator fuse and the relays? I'm completely new to Guzzis and pretty new to bike. Don't know much yet.If you don't think any of these are the issues, can you let me know if you can think of anything else that could be ailing her?

Also, does anyone know where I can find schematics for the bike? A pdf manual or something?

Thanks you,

-ryan

I attached a picture of her below

guzzi.jpg

Ryan, I can tell you that you are in the right place! It might take some tinkering, but these folks are super at helping one another get these nice Guzzis going!:mg:

First, do you have a digital Volt-ohm meter? It would be a good investment of about $50 to get a decent one. I'm thinkin' your gonna need it!

For certain, the clicking suggests the battery is ready for a change. The Hawker odyssey PC 545 has a good reputation in these bikes.

If you take off the seat, you can access the battery, the relays (on the right side near the back), and the fuses (left side in back). The regulator fuse is the 30 amp job in position 3. They are bad for melting without "blowing."

Our buddy. Orangeokie, was always fond of saying "Know the Rules" which he linked to a post reminding us to keep a fresh battery and the best available relays.

I think the PO gave you some good advice on starting points to get the bike up and running. Then, we'll go from there!:luigi: