ST Front and GT Rear?

Scud

Tire talk time.

I'm looking at tires for the Scura. I generally replace them as a set, even though there is typically a bit more life left in the front when the rear is done. Which got me into my dangerous habit of thinking...

Assumptions:  GTs are generally longer wearing than STs - and therefore STs are a bit higher performance.

I was thinking of using Pirelli Angel GT on the rear and Pirelli Angel ST on the front. Then maybe I'd have better performance, wear out both tires at about the same rate - and the ST is $30 less than the same size GT.

Good idea? Bad idea? Experience?

That should work. I've never tried it before, but have run both of those tires quite a lot. Stickier front makes sense to me.

I just discovered a correlation between my typical rear tire service and the average mileage I'm riding each year of late: both about 4,000 miles.

Which consistently translates to coming home on a worn out tire on my autumn rides.  :blush:

I have just got to break this cycle . . .

But Docc, that cycle conveniently gives you the winter to change tires, fettle brake calipers, etc..... and start your next season off fresh. Do you also find that there is some life left in the front when the back is worn?

I'm running mismatched brands on my LeMans right now (Michelin PR2 rear and Angel GT front) and it's fine. Mismatch of type within the Pirelli Angel family seems like it would be no big deal.

I do like the idea of a stickier front and - just maybe - wearing out both tires at the same time.

Here in the deep, humid south, I ride more in the winter than the awful summers.

Looks like my records show fronts (ST or GT) give me ~7,000 miles to the rear ~4,200.

Previous Diablo Strada in their various forms (Corsa, Strada, "Normale") gave ~5,000 miles on the front.

So you see no significant difference in tread life between Angel ST and GT?