Setting Suspension Sag

Scud

Here's a place for us to help each other out on this important but oft-overlooked step. I am no expert, which might make me a good person to try to explain it. I've only done it a few times myself, and each time, it has noticeably improved the handling of the bike. Hopefully, some more experienced suspension guys will be along to add to the knowledge base.

To me, the best explanation is in the Ohlins manuals, which are available for download in the Fileshare section:  http://www.v11lemans.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=1427

The key is that you are looking for differences between pairs of measurements to be in the right ranges. The actual distances you measure are meaningless. The only thing that matters are the differences between fixed points under different load conditions.

You need three sets of measurements on the front and rear:

1) Wheels up

2) Bike on the ground without rider (balanced, not on sidestand)

3) Bike with rider (again balanced, not on sidestand)

So, you have measurements:

• Front:  F1, F2, F3
  • Rear:  R1, R2, R3

Here's how I took the measurements:

IMG_6979.jpg

IMG_6980.jpg

I haven't seen any specs for the Marzocchi/Sachs setup, but I assume sag should be about the same as the Ohlins. The target sag ranges are as follows:

Free sag, without rider:  

• Front 25-30mm (this is F1-F2)
  • Rear 5-10mm (this is R1-R2)

Race sag, with rider (and gear):

• Front 35-48mm (this is F1-F2)
  • Rear 30-40mm (this is R1-R2)

Perhaps we can use this thread to share specs and help each other figure out if we need different springs, or can get ideal set-up by adjusting pre-load.  I'll start off with the work I just did today.

• Like 2