FI improvements

Lex

Like a lot of you I am a fairly experienced rider/ amateur mechanic but I am new-ish to Guzzis. Also, I never used a Dynojet product before I bought the PC III for my 2001 V11 Sport. I've been messing with my injection based on things I've learned here, Guzziology, and a few other places. For those of you who are experts in these areas, please don't laugh too loud, you were ignorant at one time.

Here is What I've learned:

Set your TPS! You can find instructions in various places, I found the instructions in Guzziology the most useful. The TPS should read about 150 millivolts DC at closed ( zero) throttle and around 378 millivolts at the idle setting. See the instructions in the book for details. Anyway, mine was set at 80 millivolt at zero throttle, half of the correct setting! It only takes a few seconds to get it adjusted correctly.

Second, I found the instructions for setting the throttle position on the PC III. Look at the end of the PC III (serial port version) on-line training for the information. Again, what I found was way off. You see a number on the screen, this is, I assume, a digital representation of the number of millivolts coming from the TPS. At idle my "black box" was set at 25. After setting it correctly it was set at 17, almost a 33% change! Wide open throttle was nearly as dramatic, the PC III was showing 225. After resetting the position it showed 250. In other words, the PC III thought was at closed throttle when I had 25 to 33% throttle and never at more than 90% wide open throttle. The big question is how did the bike run so well up to now?