Tommaselli clip-on installation '02 LeMans

Guest Buck

Some time ago in another post I said I was going to install a set of clip-ons on my '02 LeMans, and I would post the results when I finished. Here goes:

I must start off by telling you that this installation was much more difficult than I expected. I have a habit of setting myself up for disappointment in that respect because I was an Auto Tech for 20 years. Because of that I always think it will take me no time at all. When it winds up taking twice as long as I expect I get frustrated, which takes away from the joy of the experience :rolleyes:

Anyway, here is a picture of the results:

fullview.JPG

I ordered the Tommaselli Clip-Ons from Agostini. They arrived within a week, for about $130.00 including shipping. They are pretty much infinitely adjustable, and can be configured to provide setback only, or setback and rise. Agonstini told me they would work with the stock cables and hoses, but I'm not sure how they came to that conclusion. I suspect they mean they would work as long as you configure the clip-ons to provide setback only. The only way I could make the brake hose reach when I configured the clip-ons for setback and rise was by doing some significant re-routing and modification. Since my arms are short and the V11 LeMans was built for a Gorilla with stubby legs, I decided I needed the rise as well as the setback for long-distance comfort.

Here is a picture showing the amount of rise the clip-ons will provide:

rise.JPG

Here is a picture showing the amount of setback, as measured from the centerline of the fork tube:

setback.JPG