sump removal

...Of course there was one last allen cap screw with a round hole -cut a slot for a screwdriver with a very carefully applied hacksaw, & though impact driver wouldn't budge it, hammering in a big torx bit & a sharp twist with a ratchet did.

Clever me, I thought, self-satisfied until I found myself a complete beginner again -can't find a safe place to lever it against, tried tapping the lugs with a length of birch & a hammer- but the sump is very firmly in place... anyone want to tell an old man what he must've forgotten? (2000 California Jackal)

Guest ratchethack

DWRD, I b'ieve you may've overlooked the 4 long screws (I think it's 4?) in the middle of the Jackal sump.

NOTE: The Jackal sump is entirely different than V11 sumps. Not only does it have these "middle long screws", but it has the oil filter "upside-down" on the sump itself, rather than bolted up to the oil pressure relief assembly as with V11's.

Any Q's on this, Big Daddy has the answers HERE:

http://www.motoguzzishop.com/Big_Daddy/Big..._oil_change.htm

Good luck. :luigi:

DWRD, I b'ieve you may've overlooked the 4 long screws (I think it's 4?) in the middle of the Jackal sump.

NOTE: The Jackal sump is entirely different than V11 sumps. Not only does it have these "middle long screws", but it has the oil filter "upside-down" on the sump itself, rather than bolted up to the oil pressure relief assembly as with V11's.

Any Q's on this, Big Daddy has the answers HERE:

http://www.motoguzzishop.com/Big_Daddy/Big..._oil_change.htm

Good luck. :luigi:

Ratchethack, I thought I was being soppy posting that question... thankfully I didn't (i hope!) hit the lugs hard, & all will be undamaged. Thank you more than I can say, I'll have to get you a beer some day!

Guest ratchethack

Thank you more than I can say, I'll have to get you a beer some day!

Por nada, mi compadre. -_-

And I'd more'n gladly accept cwrw gorau Cymru! Iechyd da! :bier:

Por nada, mi compadre. -_-