V11 reliability???

Guest Buck

Greetings all,

Yesterday on a whim I test rode a V11 LeMans. Prior to this I never paid attention to anything Moto Guzzi made, nor did I care. The demo ride was absolutely awesome! I really enjoyed the bike and would like to buy one, however reading some of the posts here leads me to believe the bike is less than reliable with a fair amount of significant problems, like trans oil leaks that require engine removal to fix, broken springs in the trans that strand the rider, failing gauges, intermittent no-start conditions, etc. I know that these things don't happen to everyone, BUT--it sure does seem like there is a disproportionate amount of trouble with MG's among the members here. I see the same thing over at BMWRT.com, but then again I already know that BMW's reliability is legendary.

A little about me: I've been riding motorcycles for 29 years, 19 of them on the street. I'm also a Master auto tech with 20 years experience, and I prefer to wrench on my own vehicles. I've owned various Kawahondamahzukis, 3 Harleys (I work for a Harley dealer but don't want another one), and currently I own a 2000 BMW R1100RT, 2001 BMW F650GS, and a '72 BMW R60/5. The RT hasn't been without some problems either, but as a whole is pretty rock solid reliable. The F650GS has been nearly perfect so far, and the '72 is a work in progress. I'm not looking to replace any of these bikes. Instead I am looking for a fun, good handling bike for work transportation and playing in the twisties. The Japanese stuff doesn't interest me because it always seems to have either blinding horsepower (making handling in the twisties difficult for anyone less than a "gifted" rider), feels cheap, or both. The Guzzi felt like an extremely well balanced bike to me. The brakes, handling, and power were all in line with each other and I felt immediately at home on it. I estimate putting up to 10,000 miles per year on this bike and hope to retire my RT to two up riding/longer tri