Heavier bar end weights

Guest John Y

Guest John Y

G'day all,

I disassembled my handlebar end weights yesterday - seems like a complicated way to do it to me, with several components being used when it seems that only one is required - a machined weight which screws into the threaded end of the handlebar! Of course I'm no engineer so maybe there's a good reason why Guzzi did it their way... My question is: if I want to fit heavier weights than standard, in an effort to minimize the 'buzz', is there any reason why I can't just screw it straight onto the end of the handlebar, or do I need to utilise Guzzis seemingly over-complicated method of retaining the weights??

Thanks,

John Y

V11 LeMans

cafe-SP

Nuovo Falcone

Stornello 160

Hmmm, Guzzi must have changed designs. My bar-end weights were one-piece. They screwed right into the bars, so I don't see why you can't make some up. The threads are quite shallow and fine though, so you might have a hard time finding a die for it.

Cheers,

Yeah, mine were multi-piece... a long heavy rod, with a rubber coating that I guess "squished" when the bar ends were tightened??

Anyway, I put in the Throttlemeister "heavyweight" bar end in mine. They don't use threads, just a "universal" rubber plug, but once it's in.... it's in :thumbsup:

Although they may have a screw-in version by now. I had the first on our bikes from them from what I hear, and at the time the only one they could recommend was the universal fit one I've got.

Very good quality, and very heavy :grin:

al

Guest mcloutier

Moto International has a heavier bar end weight that they had manufactured for them. They use a compression type of attachment. They put them on the bikes they sell. I like them. I don't know how much they want for them.

Guest scottd132

Dave at Moto International told me their weight is a stock Aprillia item , don't know the part number or from which bike, but yes they sell all of their V11's with them.

Scott in Seattle