Fork rebuild

Guest ONETHUMPER

Guest ONETHUMPER

I have a 2000v11 with 22000 miles, and was installing some 1.1 ohlns springs the compression leg felt odd when purging the fluid. Almost no resistence at all has anyone replaced the valving with any success and if so where did you get the parts. Always looking to upgrade if it needs to be replaced anyway.

Guest ratchethack
I have a 2000v11 with 22000 miles, and was installing some 1.1 ohlns springs the compression leg felt odd when purging the fluid. Almost no resistence at all has anyone replaced the valving with any success and if so where did you get the parts. Always looking to upgrade if it needs to be replaced anyway.

OT, I've had some experience with this fork. It's the same as on mine, the Marz 040 USD.

Unless I'm missing something, this is a bit of a puzzling post. :wacko:

When you say there was almost no resistance when "purging the fluid", I take it that you meant purging the old oil, and you'd dumped it out at this point. You wouldn't expect to have any resistance, unless the fork leg is upright with the normal amount of oil it it, so the cartridge is submerged. :huh2:

Unless you meant it had no resistance when purging the NEW fluid of AIR BUBBLES?!

Now that'd be an entirely different kettle o' fish, and if so, y'got me by the tweeter on that one. . . :o

Guest ONETHUMPER

I was when installing the new fluid. I think the problem had been there for a while the front had been feeling a bit different and I was thinking the springs would help. I did get the sag correct now on to this problem.

Guest ratchethack

Congrat's on getting the sags set properly (you need both laden and unladen sags set, of course -- just checkin'). :thumbsup:

I think gettin' them both correctly set (or even in the ballpark) puts you in the 99th percentile of V11 owners! :whistle:

Are you setting the air gap correctly -- 100 mm, forks completely compressed, springs and spacers out? :huh2: