One cylinder too rich

leafman60

Dag nabbit, okay, why would my right cylinder be running richer than the left?? No PC installed. TB's synchronized, no leaking rubbers :blush: , idles great, runs great, butttt my right pipe is sooty and much hotter than the left

While this doesn't sound like it is your problem it is worth remembering that because of the shared crankpin the firing interval on a Guzzi is not even. Power pulses occur at 270 and 450 degrees of the 720 degree cycle of the motor and this promotes a *lazy* cylinder that runs richer. This was such an issue with some of the later *old* smallblocks that Guzzi had to use different pilot jets, (Remember them ;) ) in the left and right carbs to get them through the Californian emission regs!

Running much hotter would indicate leanness rather than richness to me or perhaps a mechanical problem rather than an FI related one. Just my 2c. I'm not an FI expert. Have you run a compression test on it?

Pete. (Sweltering at 39 degrees C and hating every minute! The only way to combat this is to replace ALL my blood with beer! Cold beer!!!!!!!! :drink: )

Actually, richness would make the pipe/muffler hotter and sooty. The unburnt fuel carries the heat with it out of the cylinder and through the pipes, to grandmother's house we go.

The unburnt fuel carries the heat with it out of the cylinder and through the pipes

I might agree with that but....