relay question

mik

I am new to the wonderful world of MotoGuzzi...just bought a 2003 LeMans in December. I haven't had much of a chance to ride it but I love this machine :bike:

My question is about what seems to be an extra relay that I have seen only in my LeMans and no others around here of the same year...there aren't too many. :lol:

Thats a good thing though :) The extra is of Denso manufacture. Thanks in advance for any help. mik :bier:

You didn't specify whether you bought it new or used. If it's used, savvy owners frequently install a horn relay and upgrade to a better horn. Alternatively, if it's a late mode production-run wise, there be be differences in the wiring. Does the relay look like a manufacture installation, or is it somewhere else on the bike?

I purchased the LeMans new from a dealer. When I asked him about the other relay he said he thought it could have been a unit for the turn signals that someone at the factory decided to install right up next to the other five. He also smiled and said " I told you that no two Moto Guzzis were alike." :lol:

I had taken a picture of the relay panel and he is going to send it to MG for an answer...that ought to be fun :P I tried to upload the image a couple of times already (to this page) but it won't take. If I weren't so lazy and it wasn't so cold in my garage I might be tempted to start unpluging stuff to try and find the answer.

There were no add ons to this machine (other than what I've done) and it appears to be a later model 03 with the satin black finish on the motor instead of the crinkle paint. I have mounted the Teknic bags, installed an accessory plug, changed my dash to carbon fiber (the factory unit had fingerprints in the anodizing and was purple not black :drink: , I guess Luigi had to much wine.) and put the MG carbon tank protector on. Now, if only the weather here would cooperate me and my new MG would be very happy :bike: mik

Image09.jpg

Guest captain nemo