What's with the Mandello clutch?

Enzo

I was reminded of this with Al's post about a Mandello. I rode a Mandello and hated the clutch. It was either ON or OFF. Scary. I take it this is a single plate clutch and mine is a double plate. Is this single plate on the Mandello also called the 'Ram' clutch?

Also, what is the purposed of this touchy clutch? Is it also used on the 1100 Sport and Daytona? Why? What other V11s does it appear on?

I think the single-plate unit on the V11 Sports was made by RAM, but I'm not 100% certain. Someone else may know the answer to that question.

As best as I can remember at this time of the night, it was installed on:

2001 Rosso Mandello

2002 Tenni

2002 Scura

.... all the other V11 Sport varieties did, and currently do, have the standard dual-disc system.

However, I have no personal experience with the single-plate solution, but I like my dual-disc unit just fine... so I can't offer any opinion beyond that :huh2:

I don't really know what the advantage of the single-plate clutch was/is, other than reduced mass.

al

Guest John T

Nemo, or Enzo, or whoever you are today^_^ .....I can answer this one.

When the sport series came out, it was suppose to be Guzzis full out sport bike. During the development into this "sport bike" they decided to make it more of a sport bike by putting in a single plate sintered bronze clutch. These type of clutches are used in racing.

Guzzi tested this clutch side by side in Italy against the original dual plate design used.

I am told that they did 100 full throttle drag racing runs and examined the clutches. They found the dual plate design to be completely worn out while the single plate clutch was fine.

There is a slight downside to this design. It hooks up faster and harder than the dual disc clutch.

This is the "off/on" feeling you describe. Also, the noise it makes is opposite of the normal clutches and some people complained and some stupid dealers replaced them saying they were faulty.