Odessey PC545 Batteries leaking

Guzzimax

Less than 2 years since I installed an Odessey PC545 in my Greenie, i found it has been leaking

Checking the bike over today, whilst getting it ready for the road after winter revealed liquid in the rubber battery tray. I can’t tell if the leak originated from a seam in the plastic casing, or the relief valve. Luckily the battery tray did its job and prevented acid dropping onto the frame, hugger etc etc 

Checked my other bikes over only to find the same issue with the Rosso Corsa - a leaking Odessey battery - less than 3 years old 

I’ve never in 40 years of riding / driving experienced a leak from a sealed battery. This has really shaken my confidence in the Odessey product. 
I’ve read various posts stating that the V11 charging system is tough on the battery, but also others claiming that the Odessey battery is durable & very long lived 

Yet I’ve another V11 still equipped with a very old Spark 500 battery still performing OK and not leaking

Any thoughts before I reach out to Enersys expressing my disappointment with what has been very short lives for these 2 PC545 batteries 

Other suggestions of alternative brands that could be more durable? Yuasa?

CA7EDD25-FCAC-49A2-976D-1EA0E69DD43B.jpeg

7FC079D8-7A7C-4AE5-8F30-4529A9C6B16D.jpeg

Did you have the batteries on a charger over the winter? Not that the charger is giving the batteries a hard time. :huh2:

Edit: and the really, really obvious question; you are sure it is battery acid, of course?

42 minutes ago, audiomick said:

Did you have the batteries on a charger over the winter? Not that the charger is giving the batteries a hard time. :huh2:

Edit: and the really, really obvious question; you are sure it is battery acid, of course?

@Guzzimax, This my be the critical question. Have these PC545 been on "trickle chargers" or a "Battery Tender?"

A suggestion: