Battery lifetime

Guest bordsenius

Guest bordsenius

Hi all.

My first posting here! Thanks for letting me join.

I have ridden Guzzi's for the last 15 years, and the previous ones all had led-acid batteries. And they had to be replaced after 3-4 years.

Now the battery on my V11 Sport 2001 seems to be lacking a lot of punch when I start the engine. It might be due to the fact that I live in Norway, and it's about 3 degrees centigrades here in the morning, but I seem to rememeber that the startet turned a lot faster a few years ago.

How long are the batteries supposed to last? Do they losse power when they go older? I have no experience with this dry-cell battery type, so all ideas are welcome.

Yours

Stig bordsenius

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi all.

My first posting here! Thanks for letting me join.

I have ridden Guzzi's for the last 15 years, and the previous ones all had led-acid batteries. And they had to be replaced after 3-4 years.

Now the battery on my V11 Sport 2001 seems to be lacking a lot of punch when I start the engine. It might be due to the fact that I live in Norway, and it's about 3 degrees centigrades here in the morning, but I seem to rememeber that the startet turned a lot faster a few years ago.

How long are the batteries supposed to last? Do they losse power when they go older? I have no experience with this dry-cell battery type, so all ideas are welcome.

Yours

Stig bordsenius

49263[/snapback]

Hello and welcome to the site!,

My 2000 V11 Sport battery died about two months ago, so I would say the battery life is still about 3 to 5 years. I also had a small leak from the battery over winter, so that is what most likely caused the battery failure in my case.

Mike

Mine is still going on an '01 sport, but it lost some punch over the winter. Since it has been warming up, it's getting better again so I think it'll last this year, but not next winter.

Hej Stig,