So, I'm standing at a bar in Miami...

Right,

I've been putting this off for a while, mostly because I'm lazy, partly because i've been busy, and slightly because this might piss off a few people. Actually , I don't really care about that last bit, if you get insulted, I don't want to talk to you anyway!

I'm a long haul pilot and spend a lot of my time in weird and wonderful places, and about once a month I'm in one of various parts of the States.

So, I'm standing at a bar in Miami...trying to counter the jet lag, having landed about 3 hours previous after a 9 hour flight from the other side of the pond. Sipping a bottle of insipid mexican lager and trying to have a coherent conversation with my skipper, who's in his late fifties, deaf after years of flying fighters, and can't hear me anyway because the salsa music is too loud, and besides I'm not not really listening to myself because the cuban dancers are getting 90% of my brain capacity, which is only operating at 20% at this stage anyway. (what day is it now?)

I hand a $20 bill to the reeeeally slow barman to buy a round. He looks at it, and pulls it tight to check(I presume) if it's fake. Only , he pulls a little hard, and tears it in two.

We laugh, he sort of laughs, Then he tries to hand it back to me. I say" no no," as he tore it , it's his problem. So he runs off to get the boss.

So far, so mundanely complicated, but not a big deal.

Next thing I have a security man in my face, insisting I go outside to have a "chat".

Now, it's quite loud as I said, so faces are quite close, and voices are raised, but there's absolutely no aggression on my part. And I'm sober.

I say"no problem", but as a guest of the hotel in which the bar is situated I'd rather go out the other exit, into the hotel, for the chat.