Moto Guzzi Norge VS Sport 1200?

JesterGrin_1

I am brand new to the Moto Guzzi interest. And thus for the last few days I have been reading everything I can but as some might understand I still know nothing lol. So I thought I would ask. :)

I have been really looking at the Norge and the Sport 1200 for my first Moto Guzzi. As I do wish to have bags and a decent enough fairing for highway use. Especially since I am in South TEXAS so when speeds are normally in the 70-85 mph range with long stretches of highway it would be nice to have a bit of wind protection to hide behind.

I understand I think that Aftermarket Fairings are available for the Sport 1200's but my main concern is reliability and self maintenance between the two models and what short falls one model may have over the other as I am not in a position to just throw money away. 

So of course I am mainly looking at a used Moto Guzzi so what years of these models should I look at or to say which ones should I avoid?

Thank You Everyone for your time and knowledge.

Speaking of Knowledge I have to say from what I have read thus far on this forum for being brand new I am very impressed with the free exchange of knowledge and the willingness to help others of which is great to behold in this day and age. Congrats to one and all in this respect. :)

Also, there is a thread on the 2008 Sport in the "Newer Models" sub-forum. Have a look:

http://www.v11lemans.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=19071&p=204833

This thread will get moved there eventually, but let's get some posting first!

[Personally, I think there ought to be a dedicated 1200 Sport Sub-Forum since *somebody* we know and love ( :notworthy: Chief Whip Jaap) has one!]

Hi and welcome. I can't opine on specifics, but over the last 10 years of my moto lifestyle, my mantra has become "less is more".

I'm 66 and do not want anything bigger or more bulky, or more complicated than my V11 LM. The 1200 Sport get's my vote.