New member, New 2000 V11 Sport "greenie"

vtwins4life

Hi All,

I am new to V11 Sport ownership, but not to Guzzis (also have a 1998 EV) or riding in general (been on 2 wheels for >30 years and 100k miles). 

After perhaps more than an appropriate amount of alcohol one night (for ebay shopping anyway), I pulled the trigger on a 2000 V11 Sport. The price was better than most I'd seen ($3500) and I figured "it's a Guzzi...shouldn't need much". I should have run away when the seller didn't have a scrap of paper showing maintenance. 

Well it got here a few days later thanks to the miracles of the modern economy (uship). And immediately off to the shop....

I don't do a ton of wrenching any more so I left the fixing to Seacoast Sport Cycle in Derry NH as they have been good to me over the years. They did the following:

new tires (Dunlop)

Tune and valve adjustment

voltage regulator (kept blowing headlight fuse)

brake pads

K&N's to replace the old foam filters

It's now rideable and damn...what a fun ride it is. I LOVE the sound and it's an absolute freight train at speed in a straight line. It rivals my old FJ1200 actually which surprised me.  It has Rizoma bars and hydraulics which give it a little more upright seating position. It also has the red frame and red powder coated wheels which really work for the look imho. 

What it still needs:

clutch - slips under heavy load when passing groups of Harleys :-)

idle work - still stalls here and there

tail lights - hate the cheap units the previous owner installed

cans - the mufflers sound great but are a little tattered looking and I am looking for a deeper tone that's a little more subtle 

I'll have questions I'm sure - been reading a lot here to get myself up to speed. If any of your are in New England please drop me a line or meet me some Sunday AM at the VB in Pomfret CT for a ride. 

I am happy to upload more and better pics if someone can point me to a way to upload larger images to this site. 

VT4L