Show your very first bike - Nostalgia...

nos·tal·gianäˈstaljə, nəˈstaljə | noun

A sentimental longing or wistful affection for the past, typically for a period or place with happy personal associations.

14 years old, I was finally getting a real taste of freedom when I graduated from a bicycle and was legally allowed to ride a "Cyclomoteur" on the street... without a license.

I literally lived on the darn thing and loved it, from taking me to school in the morning to meeting with my friends afterwards at the café and going on adventures on the week-ends. And when summer came, we'd load them up and go on multi-days camping trips in the backcountry... lots of fun memories. 

The Italians had Vespas, we had Motobécane, Velosolex and Peugeot. The Peugeot 103 was ubiquitous in the streets of France in the 70's and would become the most sold moped in the world. It was the most popular model back then and has retained a cult following to this day.

103-orange.jpg

The Peugeot 103 celebrated its 50 years anniversary in 2021. Here is an article in honor of the event - Sorry but it's in French.

https://www.mobylette-mag.fr/4890-peugeot-103-le-cyclomoteur-le-plus-vendu-dans-le-monde.html

• Like 7

My very first would have to be some lawnmower powered minibike. Not sure if it even had a brand name on it. I just ripped up and down a long gravel driveway in upstate NY when I visited my father (that's all I was allowed to do).

But my first street-legal transportation motorcycle was a 1972 Honda CB350-Four. Candy-apple red. Not sure if I have a photo of it. But I did buy a 1973 version a few years ago and putted around on it for a while. Re-owning the first bike did not re-capture the magic. It was just tragically slow, but it was fun for a spell. Rode that for a year and some change then got my first new motorcycle, a 1986 Yamaha Radian (also red). That was such a great little bike, and I have not seen one in a long time.

• Like 4